Just a Quick Note…

If you are trying to hit on me, please at least get my ethnicity right. For example…

Suitor at Table 2: So how long have you worked here?

Almost a year.

Do you like it?

Um… yeah, it’s good. [What kind of question is that?]

So what part of Thailand are you from?

I’m not from Thailand. I was born in Korea and adopted when I was four months old.

Are you sure you’re not Thai? You look Thai.

Yup, pretty sure I’m not Thai.

I walked away shortly after telling this man that I was sure I wasn’t Thai. Getting me to second-guess my ethnicity is not going to get me in the sack. I can guarantee that for sure.

Well, sober anyway.

5 Responses to “Just a Quick Note…”

  1. I don’t know, if you said you were adopted he probably thought there might have been some ethnic wiggle-room, so to speak 😛 Nonetheless, most Americans are stupid, and I can say that because I am one.

  2. When men try to hit on the waitress they often say things that make me wonder…
    That was an exceptionally stupid remark though!

  3. I’m Thai and I used to work in a Japanese restaurant. Customers thought I was Japanese and would try to speak a few words of Japanese to me. It was fun. Why so angry? Must be an American thing.

    • thairader Says:

      Thank you for the comment.

      Although it may have something to do with me being American, I really only got angry because of all pick-up lines to use, that was probably one of the worst ones. Would a guy ask a white or black girl girl “So, you MUST be German. You look so German to me!” (When she’s really Irish or Swede or whatever.) Besides that, I’m tired of being labeled as an exotic plaything. Being Asian yourself, don’t you feel the same way?

      I mean, regardless of your race, who uses that to pick up chicks?

  4. Hmm. Is it true? 🙂

Leave a Reply

